The Member of Parliament for Tamale South Hon Haruna Iddrisu has indicated that, there is no majority or minority in parliament considering the numbers each party hold (137) for NDC and (137) for NPP and Independent member (1) And for that matter, nobody should be engaged in any effort to claim what he or she does not possess or have.

He said by official record the 8th Parliament of Ghana have equal strength and equal numbers which has never happened under our democratic history and in the the fourth republic.

The leader of the opposition party in parliament described the situation as a unique one that comes with it own opportunities and challenges.

The leader again stated clearly that it wouldn’t be difficult for his side to sit at the left hands side of the speaker because it changes nothing. He stated that the NDC members are responsible Ghanaian citizens and the people of Ghana wants to see parliament function effectively to serve their purposes and their needs. He elaborated that in the interest of peace to ensure that parliament function effectively to serve the needs of the Ghanaian people, his side will make the demands that their strength is respected in the composition of committees and the determination of leadership of committee’s.

Hon. Haruna Iddrisu talked about the release issued by the independent Fomena member of Parliament. The leader stressed on the fact that the Fomena MP who doubles as 2nd Deputy Speaker of the house Hon. Andrew Amoako Asiamah of didn’t state emphatically that he has joined the NPP but rather said he shall associate with the NPP. He said that doesn’t give the NPP any mandate to consider him part of them. Moreover the leader coating article, 96 (1) which states that there shall be two Deputy Speakers of parliament
(a) who shall be elected by the Members of parliament from among the members of parliament and
(b) both of whom shall not be members of the same political party. He lamented that should the independent MP makes a clear stand to join the NPP then it means there shall be a by-election.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here