Telecommunications giant, MTN has launched the 2017 edition of its popular music reality show, MTN Hitmaker.

This year’s edition of the reality show, which is the sixth season, has been dubbed ‘The Next Level’.

MTN Hitmaker since its inception in 2011 has discovered, unearthed and groomed young aspiring artistes with talent to pursue their music careers. Most of these talents are currently household names.

Among such talents include, Naterial, the winner from the first edition, whose album ‘Adoley’ is well known.

Koo Ntakra, winner for season two is also a formidable force to reckon with when it comes to rap in Ghana while Togbe, winner of season three, is also doing well on the charts.

The ‘Awurama’ hitmaker, Kidi, continues to show his skills in the music industry. Lastly, winner for season five, Kurlz Songs, has so far recorded one song, ‘Jennifer Lomotey’ that has got Ghanaians talking.

Speaking at the launch, Richard Acheampong, Marketing Manager at MTN Ghana, noted that this year’s competition will make use of digital platforms to enhance interactivity between Ghanaians and the show.

MTN is introducing the ‘Hitmaker App’ to enable the audience to interact and follow steadily progress of the MTN Hitmaker competition.

“We want to inspire people to take full advantage of the opportunities that exist in the digital space and so we’re putting our resources at the disposal of these budding talents to be able to make a mark especially using digital platforms. Above all we’re introducing a Hitmaker App that should make it easy for people to interact and follow what’s going on as far as Hitmaker Season 6 is concerned,” Mr. Acheampong noted.

This year’s competition is in partnership with Huawei Ghana who have promised to provide their topmost support by giving out incentives to competitors on weekly episodes.

Judges for ‘The Next Level’ include media personality, Caroline Sampson, music producer Kaywa and a surprise judge to be announced soon.

Richie, Kaywa and Magnom are the beat makers who will be working with the contestants of the competition this year.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here