Spain coach Julen Lopetegui has revealed the provisional list of 23 players in his squad for the 2018 FIFA World Cup Russia™.

An as yet unnamed additional seven players will join the 23 for their pre-tournament preparations in the coming days.

In a list which contains few shocks, Chelsea’s Alvaro Morata is perhaps the biggest name to miss out, with the forward’s indifferent domestic form costing him a place on La Roja’s plane to Russia.

The 2010 World Cup winners’ coach outlined the qualities of the forwards who were named instead of Morata.

“We feel that each one will bring his style and personality to the team and this is important for each game and each situation.

“We’ve taken the players we feel are the best and feel that we have the ingredients to challenge for the title and are just anxious for things to start now.”

Goalkeepers: David De Gea (Manchester United), Kepa Arrizabalaga (Athletic Bilbao), Pepe Reina (Napoli).

Defenders: Dani Carvajal (Real Madrid), Alvaro Odriozola (Real Sociedad), Gerard Pique (FC Barcelona), Sergio Ramos (Real Madrid), Nacho (Real Madrid), Cesar Azpilicueta (Chelsea), Jordi Alba (FC Barcelona), Nacho Monreal (Arsenal).

Midfielders: Sergio Busquets (FC Barcelona), Koke (Atletico Madrid), Saul Niguez (Atletico Madrid), Thiago Alcantara (Bayern Munich), David Silva (Manchester City), Andres Iniesta (FC Barcelona).

Forwards: Isco (Real Madrid), Marco Asensio (Real Madrid), Lucas Vazquez (Real Madrid), Iago Aspas (Celta Vigo), Rodrigo Moreno (Valencia), Diego Costa (Atletico Madrid).

All squads are provisional until the final list of 23 players is announced by FIFA, following their submission by participating teams, on 4 June.

Source: FIFA


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here