A former National Democratic Congress (NDC) MP and a supporter of Joshua Alabi, Nii Amasah Namoale, has called into question the existence of a list of 94 NDC MPs who have endorsed John Mahama to lead the party in the 2020 elections.

He insists that the purported list must be made public to ascertain its authenticity.

“They should publish the names of those MPs because I am hearing some MPs are denying that they have not signed anything yet their names are on the lists,” Mr. Namoale said on Obuoba News.

“Some people are saying and are calling to tell us that they are not part of it but they found their names on it.”

But Mr. Namoale declined to disclose the names of the MPs who have denied endorsing the former president.

In his view, the purported list was just about “mind games” to dissuade some MPs who support Joshua Alabi.

“I know a whole number of MPs that are for us but I will not come and play mind games here,” he remarked.

The Yunyoo MP,  Joseph Bipoba Naabu, has complained on Asempa FM’s political show Ekosii Sen, that he was deceived into signing the list.

He has said he signed a sheet which he thought was an attendance sheet to check absenteeism in Parliament.

The Juaboso MP, Kwabena Mintah Akandor, admitted that he was a signatory to the said document that is supposed to be spearheaded by Edwin Nii Lantey Vandapuye, the MP for Odododiodoo.

On Eyewitness News, Mr. Akandor insisted that his signing onto the document was only a reflection of the reality on the ground.

“Anytime I go to the constituency; I have some people coming to me to say that we should make sure that his Excellency John Dramani Mahama comes back. So I am only doing what people in my constituency are saying.”

In response to the claims the list did not exist, he said: “I can assure him that it is not fictitious and it is a genuine document.”

Endorsements unnecessary

The Keta MP, Richard Quashigah, who described the back and forth as needless said it is up to supporters of the party to chose who they want to lead them.

“I don’t find such signatures extremely necessary. It is mostly unnecessary. After all, if somebody wants to be flagbearer of the NDC, the rank and file of the NDC will determine how.”

Richard Quarshigah, Member of Parliament for Keta constituency

Throwing some insight on the purported list, he said he was aware that of the NDC MPs from the Volta Region, and that“only six had signed up” as at last Thursday.

He said Fifi Kwetey, Kwame Agodza were among the signatories.

Although some members of the party have already declared their intentions of contesting the position, John Mahama is yet to declare his interest.

The men who have made their intentions clear are the Nadowli-Kaleo MP, Alban Bagbin, Dr. Spio-Garbrah, former NHIA boss, Sylvester Mensah, Joshua Alabi, former MP for La-Dadekotopon, Nii Amasah Namoale among others, have given indications they will contest to lead the NDC as presidential candidates for election 2020.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here